Afe Babalola, Sarki Karshi, others dropped from Confab

Chief Afe Babalola, Sarki of Karshi, Alhaji Ismail Danlami
Mohammed and many others nominated for the national
conference billed to start next Monday in Abuja have been
replaced, a statement from the Secretary to the Government of
the Federation (SGF) Ayim Pius Ayim said.
The SGF said Dr. Kunle Olajide from Ekiti State replaces Chief
Afe Babalola who was selected on the ‘elder statesmen’s’ list,
while His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ibrahim Yaro, the Etsu of
Bwari replaces the Sarki of Karshi on the request of the
National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria.
Anyim stated that Mrs. Millicent Okoronkwo replaces Mrs.
Love Ezema on the request of the National Council of Women
Societies of Nigeria, while the All Progressives Grand Alliance
(APGA) withdraws Chief Chris Ejike Uche and Dr. Sagir Auwal
Maidoya for it to resolve the issue of its nominees.
He added that for socio-political/cultural and ethnic nationality
groups, the South West replaces Supo Sonibare with Prince
Rabiu Oluwa, while Oba Kehinde Olugbenle replaces Barr. Niyi
Akintola, whose name is retained in the Oyo State’s delegates
According to the statement, Professor Layi Erinosho has been
nominated by the Academy of Social Sciences to fill the one
slot allocated to it, while former governors’ forum nominates
Alhaji Mohammed Goni from Borno State to fill the slot for the
North East.
Five states that had not completed nominations have done
that with Delta State nominating Chief Isaac O. Jemide, Edo
State nominating Prof. Eddy Erhagbe and Oyo State
nominating Mrs. Onikepo Akande.
Chief Sampson Agbaru will represent Rivers State with Engr.
Abubakar Buba Galadima representing Yobe State.
The statement was silent on the All Progressives Congress
(APC) which did not nominate any candidate in the initial list,
but under what it termed addendum which it says makes the
total delegates 492, it has the names of Hon. Wole Oshun, Mr.
Ledum Metee, Barr. Mike Ozekhome, Barr. Anthony Akika,
Alhaji Sule Iyaji and Amb. Abdulmumuni M. Abubakar (rtd).

Do you support this?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s